CMPA Annual Dinner – Wangaratta

By on September 29, 2022

The 2022 CMPA Annual Dinner was held at the Wangaratta Gateway. CMPA Member Services Manager, Gavin Moreira, reviews the return of our special night.

It has been three years since our last Annual Dinner, usually the biggest event on the CMPA calendar a night to show our support for each other as individuals and businesses, the Association and the Industry that we are all a part of. A lot has changed since we last met in Marysville, a new Prime Minister, a new CMPA Chairperson, a new CMPA Administration Officer.

A great celebration in the regional town of Wangaratta as CMPA Members descended and took over the town for the weekend the sun came out and provided a fantastic backdrop for the event.

The CMPA Annual General Meeting commenced at 5pm. CMPA Chairperson Mr Jason Comben opened the meeting and addressed the assembly with highlights from the preceding twelve months.

Motions were passed for acceptance of all the reports including the Financial Report and there were two vacancies for Voting Members on the 2022/23 Management Committee for a three-year period. All attendees and proxies were in favour of re-electing Andrew Burdett (Burdett Sands) as a Committee Member the 2nd position remains vacant.

Pre-dinner drinks and delicious canapes were served on the covered and heated outdoor decking area beside the pool as guests started to trickle in and collect their lanyards and look at their seating arrangements.

The room was soon abuzz with guests mingling and enjoying some networking. Ben Murphy Magic kept everyone occupied with his intriguing tricks which continued into the dinner room as he moved around the tables. Adrian ‘Oz’ Osbourne a roaming caricaturist also delighted attendees as he sketched fantastic drawings of members and guests.

Our guest speaker for the evening was Glen Franklin, Manager of Regional Projects from the Department of Transport and special guest Richard Riordon MP, Shadow Minister for Resources who both spoke with Members in the pre-dinner area and throughout the dinner.

The doors opened to the spectacular Ballroom, which was filled with colour as guests found their way to their tables where they discovered gifts from our platinum sponsors. Each guest received a 50th Anniversary notebook from Kenworth, a fishing lure from Amsted Global and a torch from Mactown Consulting.

Once again I was MC for the night and began by welcoming those present and thanking our Sponsors for the night. The tone for the night was to socialise, network and enjoy the night with families, friends and fellow CMPA members.

The welcome speech, which was given by the CMPA Chairperson, Jason Comben who discussed some of the highlights from the past year and the issues that the industry faces in the future. The new ‘Quarries Build Communities’ video was launched and was well received by those in
attendance. The video complimented the brochure and poster developed for the 2019 Annual Dinner in Marysville. That was soon followed by a presentation by Glen Franklin, Manager of Regional Projects from the Department of Transport.

A mouth-watering three course meal was interspersed with a presentation from the Associate Chairperson Jason Rudge (William Adams) who took the time to thank all of our Associates for their support throughout the year and acknowledged all of our sponsors. He made special mention of the five Voting Members who also sponsored the Annual Dinner.

Jason invited the 2 members present on the night to come forward to be presented with a 15+years framed certificate of appreciation for being members of the CMPA since inception.

Present to accept their framed certificates were Garry Cranny from Dandy Premix Quarries and Tim Greenham a Workforce Member from Komatsu Australia.

In keeping with tradition, the names of all those guests present went into a draw for the four door prizes. This year’s lucky winners were Sarah Lynch from Allstone Quarries and Bonnie Humphrey from SmartTech Australia who received gift packs from Lincom Group. Ash Fahey from Mansfield Crushing received mobile plant models from RDO Equipment and David
Camilleri from Alloys International received a mobile crushing plant model from Amsted Global Solution.

Our feature entertainment this year was Uprising a local band to Wangaratta. The band provided a variation of musical numbers for guests to listen too as well as bringing many guests to their feet and on to the dance floor.

The evening ended on a high note and many guests decided to keep the mood going and move on to the hotel’s main bar after doors closed at 11:00pm. Once again, a tremendous night was had by all.

“Congratulations and a big thanks to the Secretariat for yet another fantastic CMPA Annual Dinner. It is a credit the team for a big job well done and for putting on an event that appeared to run so smoothly. My guests and I had a great night of fun, dining and socialising with likeminded people in a top venue.”

“A great night and fantastic to be back socialising with people again! Special thanks to the Secretariat and the committees for organising the event – well done”.

“My many thanks to you and your organisation. It all appeared a highly professional and well run evening. I am most grateful to you and your senior board members who were consummate hosts who all made me most welcome. The opportunity to meet and greet so many of your members was most valuable”.

A final thank you to our sponsors. Without your support the night would not be able to go ahead.

Amsted Global Solutions, Mactown Consulting and PACCAR

CDE Global, CJD Equipment, CMV Truck & Bus, Finlay Screening & Crushing Systems, Finlease, Gordyn & Palmer, Liebherr, Lincom Group, Onetrak, Orica Australia, RDO Equipment, Terex Jaques, Tutt Bryant Equipment and William Adams.

BCA Consulting, CK Prowse & Associates, Eagle Fuels, Focus CDS Consulting, FUCHS Lubricants, Indeco Australia, MSC Group, Oli Vibrators, ToThink Engineering, TSP Group of Companies and Valenza Engineering.

Advanced Engineering Group, Epiroc, Groeneveld – BEKA, Groundwork Plus and SafeMix.

Voting Members:
Burdett Sands, Castella Quarries, Conundrum Holdings, EB Mawson & Sons and Mansfield Crushing.

A decision on the date and venue for the 2023 Annual Dinner is still to be made.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Sponsored Ads